NaNoWriMo Update #1

Just a quick update on my progress for the novel. I didn’t do this on purpose, but I was just about to hit 10,000 words when I posted the first entry (I did make it that night before I went to bed), and on the night of the second entry I’ve hit 20,000. Actually 20,223 to be exact. Here are all the stats:

Words written: 20,223

Words remaining: 29,777

Completion date at this rate: 12/3/14

As you can see, I have fallen a little bit off pace, but nothing too horrible. I’m less than a day’s worth of words behind. My plan is to kick butt over this weekend and the next. I didn’t realize until a few days ago that Thanksgiving is the last weekend of the month. I was thinking I had another weekend after that to catch up, but nope. I don’t mind doing some writing over that time, but I definitely don’t want to leave myself a huge bunch of writing for that weekend.

Writing a book has been a fascinating experience. I had the basic plot line in my head, but when you sit down to do the actual writing all sorts of little things crop up that you hadn’t thought about. “Wait, why wouldn’t this character have done that earlier?” “How am I going to get the group from point A to point B?” “If X is true, then wouldn’t Y be true also, and won’t that mean this other part isn’t right?” It’s been a lot of fun and very rewarding. I’d like to talk more about it sometime, maybe with the next update. Thanks for reading!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “NaNoWriMo Update #1

  1. Woo! I can’t wait to hear more. I’d love to hear more of your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

