NaNoWriMo

This isn’t game related, but I just wanted to put it out there that I am attempting NaNoWriMo this month! I have had an idea for a book rattling around in my head for a few years now, and I’m finally actually writing it. If you’re not familiar with National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo for short), the idea is to write a complete novel of at least 50,000 words in the month of November. At that pace there’s no time for careful crafting of sentences, perfect editing, or anything else except furious, warp-speed typing of whatever comes to your mind. And it’s fantastic.

It’s really an interesting concept. When it was suggested to me a couple months ago that I try it (I’ve known of NaNo for a long time but never thought about doing it) I thought that it sounded cool but I didn’t want to try to write my book for it; I figured I didn’t want to rush through it NaNo style. But then I realized, no that’s exactly what I need to do. Because while I have thought about the book, wrote up some character backgrounds, even done some outlining using the Snowflake method, I was never going to sit down and actually write the damn thing. I had the idea (like a lot of people do) that if I just let it simmer and percolate in my brain eventually I would be able to spit out a wonderful book. So waiting didn’t really hurt, it just gave my brain time to write a better book! Of course it’s ridiculous when you say it that way, but that’s the mentality a lot of wannabe writers have. Chris Baty (founder of NaNoWriMo) wrote a book called No Plot? No Problem! that talks about that phenomenon, the origins of NaNo, the idea behind it, and more. If you ever do decide to try it yourself I highly recommend reading that book first.

But anyway, I wanted to just let people know that I am doing this and provide an occasional update on my progress. The more accountability I have the better 🙂 If you want to check up on me, you can go here and it will show you how far I’m at with the book. That page is pretty cool actually; it shows your average words per day, expected completion date, and other nifty little stats. Note that in order to write 50,000 words in a month you need to write 1,667 words per day (and this blog post doesn’t count, dang it!). Rather than shooting for exactly that, my plan is to do at least 1,500 words per weekday and 2,000 words each weekend day. I wrote 5,000 words the first weekend, so I’ve built up a little cushion that I might need later. As of this writing the stats are:

Words written: 8,944

Words remaining: 41,056

Completion date at this rate: 11/28/14

I’m hoping to hit 10,000 before I go to bed tonight.

So any words of encouragement, nagging, or silent prayer you want to offer up would be much appreciated as I try to accomplish this month long goal. And as always, thanks for reading!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “NaNoWriMo

  1. Yay! I love that you’re doing this. 😀 And that you wrote this post.

  2. Laura

    Congratulations! You would be great as an author. I didn’t see any way to read even a sample, though. I hope you will make at least part of the book available to us.

    • dantherpgman

      Thanks! I appreciate it.

      As for a sample, I must quote Ernest Hemingway: “The first draft of anything is s***” 🙂 I do plan on continuing on with the book, revising it and writing a 2nd draft next year. At that point it might be ready for public consumption and I might even be looking for some “beta testers”.

Leave a Reply

