Game trivia

Thought it might be fun to put up some trivia questions. I thought I would post a few I made up a and a few I stole from other places, but I ended up coming up with all of these on my own. I hope you enjoy!

1. What is the only (4 card) hand in Cribbage that cannot be improved no matter what card is cut?

2. The best starting hand in Hold ’em poker is AA (two Aces). What is the second best starting hand?

3. How many tiles are there in a regulation Scrabble game?

4. If you’re playing Cribbage and you have a Five in your hand, what is the fewest points you can have (including the cut card)?

5. Everyone knows about “grand slams” in baseball, but what other game uses that term for the ultimate show of offense?

6. In Cassino, what is the most points you can get on the opening play?

7. In Cassino, there are two ways to guarantee there will be no further sweeps during a round. One is by creating an “orphan”, like when you have played three Tens and the fourth one is trailed. What is the other way?

8. Which of the following is the least likely?
a) Being dealt a straight flush in 5 Card Draw poker
b) Getting a near-perfect 28 point hand in Cribbage
c) Rolling a Yahtzee in Ones in one roll
d) Flipping a coin and having it come up heads 15 times in a row

9. BONUS followup question! Which is less likely, getting dealt a royal flush in 5 card poker or getting a perfect 29 point hand in Cribbage?

10. Which of these popular board games was printed first?
a) Monopoly
b) Sorry!
c) Life
d) Scrabble

–ANSWERS BELOW–

1. Four Aces

2. The other two Aces ๐Ÿ™‚

3. 100

4. 2

5. Bridge

6. 6 (If the four upcards are the four Aces and you take them with Little Cassino: 4 for the Aces, 1 for Little Cassino, and one for the sweep)

7. Turning up four facecards or four Tens at the beginning of the game.

8. The least likely is (a). The odds are as follows:
a) 1 in 64,974
b) 1 in 15,028
c) 1 in 7,776
d) 1 in 32,768

9. The royal flush is least likely. The odds of getting a perfect 29 hand in Cribbageย  are 1 in 216,580, while the odds of getting dealt the ultimate poker hand are 1 in 649,740.

10. (b) Sorry! was first, first being printed in England in 1929. Monopoly was first produced in 1934, Life was first published in 1960, and Scrabble first came about in 1949.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Game trivia

  1. Oh fun! A game about games! I won’t do any Googling. Okay at first I had my answers here, but now I see you posted the answers! I hadn’t finished reading the post. ๐Ÿ™‚ I got 1, 6 (except I was imagining using Big Cassino and taking Little plus 2 aces, or 3 aces, and another card equaling 10 for a sweep), and 9. Wow, I got 30%. ๐Ÿ˜›

    I was confused on 4..I was counting with only 4 cards, not thinking about the cut card.

    • dantherpgman

      I thought you’d like this post ๐Ÿ™‚ Of course you didn’t Google, I knew you wouldn’t do that!

      Good call on #6, that would be the other way to do it…I should have mentioned that.

      I’ll add a note to make #4 clearer. Thanks for playing!

Leave a Reply

